pageshost.blogg.se

How to install mac os x on power mac 8500
How to install mac os x on power mac 8500













how to install mac os x on power mac 8500

Not having a firewire cable at hand, I transplanted the target drive to the successful install G4 so that I was installing on the successful G4 using a "successful CD/DVD drive" on to the target Seagate Drive. Sorry this is so long but I wanted to avoid the first thirty questions clarifying things I missed. On a previous attempt, the BaseSystem folder was about 292 Mb. “2” of zero KB, “Library” of zero KB, and “private” of 64 MB. Three folders were installed on this attempt. Error message: “The installer could not verify the ‘BaseSystem’ package. To test the effect of drive position on the problem G4 MDD, I moved the original 115 MB hard drive to the slower buss, and put the Seagate target drive in the Master position on the faster buss cable.

how to install mac os x on power mac 8500

Also have not compared every detail in System Profiler to determine if build number, etc. I have not checked to see if the ram chips on the two G4’s are exactly identical manufacture, etc. that before installing 10.5.1, I moved the original 115 GB hard drive on the successful G4 to the slower buss and put two Seagate 320 GB drives on the faster buss previously occupied only by the original 115 GB hard drive.ģ. (I am not attempting to install 10.5 on that drive.)Ģ. that the problem G4 is running 10.2.1 on the original hard drive, and the working G4 is running 10.2.8 on the original hard drive. The only differences between my two G4 MDD’s are:ġ. Both G4’s were purchased new on the same date from the same retailer. I have an identical PowerMac G4 MDD dual processor 1.25 Ghz, 1.024 GB Ram, with 115 GB internal hard drive on which the 10.5 DVD Leopard disk installed on an identical Seagate 320 GB hard drive on the first attempt. On other attempts, the install would hang in less than 2-4 minutes. On some install attempts, some files were written to the target hard drive but not enough to constitute a functional system “Install Failed” message appears after about 2-4 minutes. Error message: Cannot validate “BaseSystem’ package. I created a new Administrator account, logged in and attempted an install. No other PCI cards or any other modifications to the machine. Not connected to any network during install attempts. I have run a CD/DVD lens cleaning disk once.

how to install mac os x on power mac 8500

I have run the “Install New System and the “Erase and Install” many times. It has passed the Verify routine many times. I have formatted the target drive using Apple Disk Utility-the Mac OS 10.2.1. Visual inspection of disk shows some minor scuffs, but they were on the disk when received. I verified the 10.5.1 install disk media twice. I exchanged that drive for another identically rated drive, and began again. “Invalid B-Tree Header” was an unrepairable error. This drive would not accept installation of Mac OS 10.5. The Seagate hard drive jumpers are set to Cable Select. I did not move the original hard drive from its original position. I installed a new Seagate Barracuda 320 GB ATA/6 7200 RPM 3.5 16 MB on the same buss as the original hard drive. The Apple Studio display is connected to an Apple issued video card. (The Family 5 pack license) and have not been successful despite many attempts. I am attempting to install Leopard 10.5.1 from an Apple DVD. I am running Mac OS X 10.2.1 (6R73) on the original hard drive. The ram, keyboard and mouse are Apple original issue. I have a PowerMac G4 MDD dual processor 1.25 Ghz, 1.024 GB Ram, with 115 GB internal Apple issued hard drive.















How to install mac os x on power mac 8500